Archive for June 21st, 2007

Franny & Zooey

I just finished this J.D. Salinger novel – the 2nd book of his I’ve read, and the 2nd on my list of summer reading. The book is a tried-and-true classic, so I while won’t pretend to be literary enough to break it down or write a review, I’ll certainly offer my thoughts.

First and foremost – I loved it, and for many of the same reasons I loved Catcher in the Rye: an astutely bitter protagonist(s), a portrayal of a person at odds with the world. Franny is a subtle story of coping with internal turmoil and developing personal religious understanding, both themes that struck a chord with me.

Beyond that, Salinger has a way of expressing the finer details of mood and human action that is spot-on; his dialogue is perfectly nuanced, and I felt as though I could’ve been sitting in the middle of the Manhattan apartment that is the setting for much of the novel.

Above all else, Franny and Zooey is witty, poetic and insightful, and so I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes:

The goddam sands run out on you every time you turn around. I know what I’m talking about. You’re lucky if you get time to sneeze in this goddam phenomenal world.”

- Zooey


Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.