Archive for December 26th, 2007

Season: A Journal Entry

SEATTLE, Dec. 25 – IT’S CHRISTMAS DAY AND, unexpectedly, big, wet flakes of snow are falling; not sticking, but turning the sky into a curtain of white, through which I can see the silhouettes of pine trees and the grey, mysterious beginnings of the Sound.

To me – and to all my friends hovering around this point in life – the season is not the same as it once was. I suppose that’s nothing profound, but perhaps my deeper appreciation for spending time with family is. I feel more in touch with the fact that the years – and the Christmases – will come and go without cease until my life reaches its end, and that without significant effort on my part to pause and savor these more important moments, I will just be letting time wash over my oblivious soul.

As so last night, sitting next to the Christmas tree with my parents and the dogs – feeling as warm and happy as ever I have in 23 winters – I breathed in and out slowly, feeling the light and the air as they rose to the eaves, carrying with them a genuine spirit of the all the good times spent in that very room …

This trip I’ve been able to see home with honest eyes; not unsentimental, but also not with forced sentimentality. The streets that once seemed flooded wth memories now only have evaporating oily pools of them – every now and then a splash, and a smattering of the past.

As I walked along the boardwalk yesterday I saw the now vacant community store, the apartment where a friend once lived. In the crisp wind I saw the northwest, the clear waters and a sky unwittingly shifting between silver and blue. I saw the weathered edges of this familiar coast.

photo by Rakka.


Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.