Dreams

The train door opens,
but before I decide to step on
I think of you.
Snowflakes litter the platform
and my beard is stiff from the cold.

Aboard the car
my forehead presses against the glass
as visions of rusty old diners and deserted grey barns
skate along the surface of my eyes.

In the seat next to me
sits the lonely ghost of memory –
a childhood dissolved and gone
who points at things and says, “that reminds me of…”

As we pass high into the mountains
tall firs tear at the blue halcyon above,
everything fading to black
as the train is swallowed by the hillside.

In the tunnel I shut my eyes,
and think I hear the chatter of birds
over the howl of the engine.

I wake up shivering in my bed,
reaching for the phone.

Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

January 2007
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories