The Skylight

photo by riИux. words by thedailytransit.

I used to
stare up through the skylight of
my parents’ bathroom while I
showered, mentally reconstructing
what lie beyond
the blue shower curtain.

Towel around waist, I would
step out into the hallway and be
in my very own apartment
on the crest of a modern building
in downtown Seoul.
I would take my coffee
out onto the balcony
and take in the morning of
my new life.
I could see
everything
and imagined
all the details.

Opening the door to find the same house
was always something I expected.
But it was still hard, shattering.

These days
In the morning
I sit on the shower floor
water running over my head
in the yellow, steam-filled light
and think about all
I have
to do
today
to get there.

– this is still a draft. working out the finer details.

Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories