The Crafty Traveler

Ah, the lost arts of postcard-sending and writing by hand…

I’ve always loved finding great postcards to send to far-off friends. But the trick is really in deciding which friends are actually going to appreciate the aesthetics of receiving something *real* as opposed to the typical email.

I picked up the above items (among other things) today at a local crafts fair; the top is a postcard, the other is a matchbook-style notebook. Both were made by Rar Rar Press out of Chicago. I was really drawn to the quote on the card, which the lady who makes these said comes from a song by the band ‘This Bike is a Pipe Bomb.’ It captures a kind of gritty traveler spirit, almost Kerouac-esque. The old-school compass printed on the notebook also grabbed me, as I’ve always been in love with the pirate-wanderer mystique exuded by more ancient maps – however inaccurate they may be.

I’ve got supplies to keep in touch, now all I need is a journey.

Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories