Archive for September 7th, 2007

Welcome to Portland

IT WAS A LONG NIGHT. I tossed and turned in my shabby orange pup-tent as my neighbor snored like a chainsaw; about 4 a.m. I wondered whether I was crazy to have come to this city alone to sleep on the ground when I could be in the comfort of my own bed…

But with the morning came a new outlook – and (thank god) a cup of strong coffee. I’m staying at a hostel in the Hawthorne District, which is akin perhaps to Seattle’s Capitol Hill. Exploring downtown by bike has been great; today I scoped out Chinatown and had some time for introspection at the tea garden.

Traveling alone has its virtues and challenges. It’s not something I’ve done a whole lot of – while I’m more free to go and wander without worrying if my partner is having a good time, by and large I find myself wishing I had someone to share things with. I suppose the most difficult thing is realizing that the mental hardships that come with pushing myself out of my comfort zone have some value.

Anyway, enough deep thoughts – enjoy the photos!

view the rest on flickr.

Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories