Welcome to Portland

IT WAS A LONG NIGHT. I tossed and turned in my shabby orange pup-tent as my neighbor snored like a chainsaw; about 4 a.m. I wondered whether I was crazy to have come to this city alone to sleep on the ground when I could be in the comfort of my own bed…

But with the morning came a new outlook – and (thank god) a cup of strong coffee. I’m staying at a hostel in the Hawthorne District, which is akin perhaps to Seattle’s Capitol Hill. Exploring downtown by bike has been great; today I scoped out Chinatown and had some time for introspection at the tea garden.

Traveling alone has its virtues and challenges. It’s not something I’ve done a whole lot of – while I’m more free to go and wander without worrying if my partner is having a good time, by and large I find myself wishing I had someone to share things with. I suppose the most difficult thing is realizing that the mental hardships that come with pushing myself out of my comfort zone have some value.

Anyway, enough deep thoughts – enjoy the photos!

view the rest on flickr.

1 Response to “Welcome to Portland”


  1. 1 Grigo September 9, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Hi TDT,

    Great photos! especailly those about Chinese culture: garden and green tea. Where did you take them? I love them!

    Good luck with your new tour, looking forward to reading your updates.


Comments are currently closed.



Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories