2000 Miles

COMING TO THE END OF OUR JOURNEY was bittersweet, anti-climactic and utterly relieving. After seemingly endless miles on the road we rolled into Seattle feeling strangely normal. Our tired eyes gleamed in the dusky light as we struggled to stitch together the world of the past three weeks – of the open road, the outdoors, California, unfamiliar places – and the world to which we were returning.

Even as I sit here back at my parents’ house, wearing sweatpants and tapping away in front of this screen, I feel like I’ve been in a time warp. This summer has stretched forever, and this journey seemed to span over months. Does the theory of relativity apply to long road trips?

Either way, the long and short is TDT is back from an extended hiatus – I want to thank those of you who kept checking back even as my posting trailed off. Days spent on the road and in the woods gave little opportunity for updating the blog, but over the next few days I’ll be getting photos up here and recaps of my various destinations.

But for now it’s time for the first decent night’s sleep in 2000 miles – after all, I’ve still got 2000 more to go. Happy travels.

1 Response to “2000 Miles”


  1. 1 Grigo September 24, 2007 at 1:25 am

    Congratulations on your first 2000 miles. Looking forward to your photos.


Comments are currently closed.



Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories