Madison Snapshot

SHE WHEELS IN A RUSTY old road bike, wearing mud-caked boots and baggy grass-stained jeans. Her front tire is flat. “Here’s the deal,” she says to a tall, lanky bike mechanic, “I have a flat, but I’m just coming back from the farm so I don’t have any money. So I can either trade goods or come back and pay later.” She flicks her hair out of her face and gives a comfortably resigned shrug.

“Either one,” says the mechanic, “whatever.”

“Really? Great!” she answers.

The mechanic eyes a box full of produce strapped to her bike. “Sweet, are those leeks?”

2 Responses to “Madison Snapshot”


  1. 1 theharbinger October 18, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Freaking amazing! Hell of a coincidence that you write about this on the same day that I write about a similar situation with a different outcome. Check out today’s post.

    What a contrast! That is exactly the kind of strong, local community that I am talking about… and thirsting for. What a delightful snapshot, and a perfect juxtaposition of my post.


Comments are currently closed.



Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories