Ripples After the Fire

THE TELEVISION CARRIED SCENES that were at once horrific and startlingly familiar; violence raging in an African state – a fire, a mob and dusty streets. Kenya, long perceived to be a safe and democratic nation, had exploded overnight after political unrest frothed into a rampage that culminated in the burning of a church containing 50 souls. The country was spiraling out of control.

I watched on my couch, next to an ornately decorated artificial Christmas tree, and thought for a moment about how far away it all seemed, how surreal. But something felt odd, and I kept asking myself: Do I know someone in Kenya?

Moments later it clicked that my friend Lauren had plans to travel from Niger to Nairobi sometime in December – she would be spending some time there before slowly making her way to South Africa. Her plans were loose, and she would be getting from place to place by buses and hitched rides. I couldn’t help fearing for her safety, as I later read that roads across the country had been blocked by thugs.

And I thought about how strange it was that there in my living room, tucked away while in some distant corner of the world people were mourning the unspeakably terrible loss of family and friends, I was in at least one way linked to the tragedy. Though my moments of silent concern were remote from the anguish felt on the ground in Kenya, here was a moment of interdependence manifested; the flames of that fire had licked and lashed out into the world, and ripples passed over the airwaves.

***

Lauren if you read this, drop me a line.

5 Responses to “Ripples After the Fire”


  1. 1 So Cal Kango Beach Bum January 7, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Let us know how Lauren is! That was such a horrible tragedy, in such a normally peaceful state (despite the regime). I hope that they find some settlement soon.

  2. 2 Daun Allen January 9, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Hi,
    We have not met but Lauren has told me about you and I enjoy your writing.

    She has a live journal site I will copy it here so you can check up on her. http://easyisboring.livejournal.com/ She is safe for now.

    I case you have not guessed, I am Lauren’s Mom.

  3. 3 dailytransit January 9, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Daun – Thanks very much for the update. I actually was able to reach Lauren over her Myspace, but I appreciate you letting me know (I suppose I should update readers as well).

    Thanks also for the kind words about my writing – hope you’ll keep reading, and maybe we’ll get a chance to meet in person when Lauren returns from her travels.

    Take care.

  4. 4 infamouslauren January 10, 2008 at 11:42 am

    hi! i’m ok ok ok (better than ok!). was out of kenya by xmas (am in kampala, uganda right now), and things are settling down there, enough that i can fly into nairobi on the 16th of this month and out on the 18th (most of my stuff is there, and as much as i want to be a minimalist, 5 months of south america without my sneakers and stuff doesn’t sound that appealing). so no worries! how cute that my mom read your site!!
    lauren


  1. 1 Safe. « The Daily Transit Trackback on January 9, 2008 at 10:57 am
Comments are currently closed.



Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories