Left Unsaid

A LOST LETTER IS A kind of tragedy. It is a story never told, words and thoughts left unsaid. The other day, as I picked through my piles of stored papers and files in a last-ditch effort to get organized before leaving the country, I came across what appeared to be an empty envelope. But just as I prepared to flick it to the recycle bin, I noticed a folded piece of paper closed inside — a page cut from a magazine.

The article was from my Aunt D, who had sent it with a card sometime last year, though I hadn’t noticed. It was a piece by Sung J. Woo for the ‘Lives’ section of the New York Times magazine. A Korean-American who immigrated with his family when he was very young, Woo writes about the conversations he never started with his father; letters lost in the distance between each other.

Read “Like Father?” at NYT.

2 Responses to “Left Unsaid”


  1. 1 Mike H May 22, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    How terribly sad for them to have missed the opportunities to share in each other’s lives.

  2. 2 Sung J. Woo February 11, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Hello Ben,

    Thanks for this lovely post about my piece in the Times. I’m glad you opened that envelope!

    I actually had another piece in the Generations section of the paper earlier this year. Take a look if you haven’t seen it.

    http://www.sungjwoo.com/2009/01/not-just-a-place-for-food-but-for-bonding/

    By the way, I would’ve replied sooner, but I just found your great blog this evening. Please keep up the great work!

    – Sung


Comments are currently closed.



Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories