Archive for May 16th, 2007

Why We Ride

People have different reasons for riding a bicycle: practicality, exercise, necessity, passion… For me, the feeling of being the engine is what draws me to riding. As someone who is driven by travel, the ability to transport myself and to glide freely over the streets – uninhibited by traffic or concerns over oil – makes me feel both liberated and connected. I can go as far as I’m able to pedal, but my experience is ultimately shaped by the elements around me – the weather, the road, the people, the city.

I came across “Why I Ride NYC” yesterday via Fixed Gear Gallery. If you’re in Manhattan, definitely make sure to check out some of the exhibitions around the city from this bicycle-focused art show. Otherwise, I recommend perusing through the online catalogue, which has some great essays and photos. A summary of the exhibition from FGG:

“Why I Ride” is an independently organized multi-venue exhibition showcasing New York artists working in photography, painting, drawing, and sculpture or installation, who are inspired by the freedom and mobility that the bicycle makes possible in a congested metropolis. These artists view interactions with neighbors and strangers “both friendly and otherwise” as preferable to the isolation that grows out of our sprawling, auto-dependent environment.

Enjoy the ride – happy travels by bicycle!

Art taken from whyiridenyc.org


Welcome to TDT. This blog is no longer active. Read about it here.

Required Reading

Affliations


Post Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories